Wednesday, November 14, 2012


Stole this from my roommate, but let's all marvel at the cutie pie nugget who lives with me! He is my host mom's grandson and his name is Lorenzo :) He just turned one years old yesterday! We bought him a cupcake and a donald duck hat and gloves from the Disney store! He is quite possibly the cutest little Italian baby of all time. Check the "Buon Compleanno" in the background ;)

Also, I went to Ireland last weekend! 


Cliffs of Moher were beautiful. 

Ciao for now!

Monday, November 5, 2012

Nuggets of my life


1. My host mom kept hearing our woes of lack of Florentine pumpkin - and guess what she did? May I present you my host mom's pinterest-worthy pumpkin pie! Okay, actually I'm going to admit something. I don't like pumpkin pie in the United States. When I was raving about it earlier, I was really thinking more along the lines of pumpkin spice latte or pumpkin bread. The texture of pumpkin pie freaks me out - so mushy! BUT! Italian pumpkin pie is where it's at! This was sort of like a cake-pie mixture and very bread-y and delicious. And yes, those little creatures on top are indeed dough spiders. Precious.


2. Italian Halloween - check our super creative costumes! Future study abroad-ers, hit the 99 cent store (the dollar store, the euro store?) and prepare to be amazed! Firstly, they had a ton of costume-y goodness including jason masks and realistically bloody knives. Also, that thing I'm holding is a light-up pitch fork. However, it had 4 SETTINGS of different colorful lighting displays! What the heck. Best euro I've ever spent. Also also, the 99 cent store has good quality makeup/dishes/notebooks/etc. It puts the American dollar store to shame. Maybe this has something to do with the exchange rate. That extra 30 cents will go miles. Four lighting displays worth of miles. 


3. I voted in my first election!! *Sniff sniff* Such a proud moment. I hope the absentee ballot went through, eep! I had to go to the American Consulate in Florence, get all my electronics taken, and go through a metal detector - woot, so legit. Also, I don't want to give away my party preference... but I love Europe for the fact that I have yet to meet a single person that does not like Obama. No exaggeration. They pretty much follow American politics closer than I do. Just kidding, I'm a political science major and therefore know everything bout 'Merica. Also, the Italian newspaper printed a poll that showed that only 5% of Germans were pro-Romney. As my host-mom's eleven year old granddaughter put it, "Out of 100%, only 5?!" I feel safe with my main man in power. This is my unbiased and objective stance.. Gobama. Happy voting! 

Thursday, October 25, 2012

Ottobre

Since writing my pumpkin rant, things have improved in the land of the Florentines.

Well, moderately.


Woah - woah - woah! You weren't expecting that were you? Halloween overload. What is this blonde complaining about? Italy is decked out in punks' and morbidly iced cookies! Yes, this is the curious case of Mama's Bakery. This glorious place advertises itself as being stocked with American food, which I can attest to. Its counter is overflowing with mini-cupcakes, chocolate chip cookies, and NY style cheesecake. It even has to-go cups that are made of cardboard!!! Gasp. This is in contrast to the Italian hot coffees I receive in plastic dixie cups with a make-shift lid of saran wrap.. so functional, as you can imagine.


Today I got... wait for it... CHAI TEA!!! The cinnamon-y goodness of the fusion of fall flavors. Oh man. Things slowly ascended from last week's orange tea, which trumped English Breakfast in its undertones of autumn. But, chai. There are no words.


What's a fall-themed post without a chunky knit scarf? But really, I found this beauty at H&M for a handful of euros and I'm not taking it off until Spring. Not featured: Little pom pom attachments at the bottom. Youuu are perrrfect, Mr. Scarf. Florence is starting to get chilly! I thought Harrisonburg had bi-polar weather. I'll start my day here at 45 degrees bundled up and end up sweating at 80 degrees midday! Layers, people, layers. Also - can't wait to snag myself some devil horns for 1 euro from the Italian "dollar store!" (Yes, they have those!)

Ciao for now!! xo



Saturday, October 20, 2012

Food in Amalfi

Hello, all. I recently finished my midterm break at the Amalfi coast with la mia famiglia. I have some really great photos of aquamarine water and pebble sand under giant umbrellas.. but that's too cliche. This week I indulged in some of the yummiest food I've had since coming to Italy. This might be because I've been avoiding pasta at all costs in Florence (not trying to come back looking like a puffy puffi !). Allora, you will now be subjected to the delicious-ness that is food from the southern coast of Italia. 


Fettucini Bolognese - We found our favorite restaurant around the middle of the trip, called Piazza Duomo . Their food was so well-priced and the portions were an adequate size (not Olive Garden standards, but you know). Usually when I have fettuccini it's covered in creamy alfredo sauce. (Fun fact: Alfredo sauce is an American thing. I've yet to see it here.. my host mom has never even HEARD of it!) However, slathering these flat noodles in hearty meat sauce was a great choice. I'm salivating from reliving this memory.


Caprese con prosciutto - I had this number for lunch in Positano. Caprese salad is bomb in Italy because the mozzarella is so fresh. This was the first time I had seen it offered with prosciutto (which is similar to salty ham for any non-Italians). I'm pretty sure I can't go back to normal caprese, because the combination was divine. 


Fisherman's tube pasta - I got this on the last night at our favorite ristorante (Piazza Duomo obvi). The giant rigatoni-like noodles had been calling my name for the entire week. They're so intriguing because I have never seen them in America. Also, Amalfi cooked all of its pasta "al dente," which means it was still firm. If you've never had pasta a little firm before you may turn up your nose, but it makes it so much better. The mix of shrimp, oysters and clams with a fishy oil sauce was so flavorful and really contributed to the beachy atmosphere. 


Cannoli - Our favorite dessert place turned out to be Bar Francese , which was more Italian than French - don't be alarmed! This was my first cannoli in Italy (I know, I have self-restraint don't I?) and it definitely did not disappoint. The inside was coated in chocolate, and the cream was exactly as I had imagined. They also offered miniature cannolis, which my brother and mom got. I couldn't resist the giant one! Ooh, I forgot to photograph this - but they also had a dessert called Lemon Delight, which is specific to Amalfi. Amalfi is known for their lemon growing and consequently their limoncello (a lemon-flavoured liquor). The Lemon Delight was in the shape of a dome and a buttery yellow colour. The outer layer was a soft lemon icing, followed by another layer of yellow cake, and the inside with a cold lemon-y custard. Oh my goodness. I highly recommend them.


Eggs - I know, what's so great about eggs? I CAN NEVER FIND THEM! THEY ARE THE PUMPKINS OF FLORENCE! Really though, in Florence the eggs are labelled as "American breakfast" and are far too overpriced. I ordered two fried eggs in Amalfi with a side of fresh peaches, and let me tell you it was heaven. Allora.


Octopus - Eeeeep! I got this on the first night because my mom said that Amalfi was known for their octopus. I would call this a cold salad of octopus, potato, and beans. It definitely did not hit the spot, but then again I wasn't expecting it to. I think if it were a hot dish it would have slid down easier - but the cold tentacles made me picture the creature still alive and floating around in the water. The taste of the octopus was not bad though. I was expecting it to be squishy like calamari, but it was rather firm and tasted sort of chicken-y (doesn't everything taste like chicken?). I couldn't help myself and started playing with my food. The tentacles suctioned perfectly to the plate like a loofa in a shower! Just being mature, that's all.


This was another delicacy from Bar Francese. Every caffe should have a gelato section of they are any sort of Italian. Of course, I got my signature nocciola. The heart cone cookie was a nice touch! The next day I mixed nocciola with "Amarena," which was cherries and vanilla. I usually make pretty good gelato decisions, and this one added to my list of favorites. 

Ciao for now! XOXO

Friday, October 12, 2012

Let's take a moment of silence to thank Remington for making a European curling iron.


Yay for presentable hair! 


Luke, I am your stylist. Found this little bugger at a men's razor shop (why is that a necessary theme for a shop?). It was 24 euro! That's almost half of what my shitty-shitty straightener cost. A little resentful of that purchase, but you live and you learn! If anyone is in Europe and has naturally stick straight hair and needs something to smooth it over when it's slightly windblown... hit me up.. I have a straightener for you. 

Ciao for now! xoxo


Tuesday, October 9, 2012

Mission: Pumpkin head

Fall is in the air. The leaves are turning, the cider is churning, the -- wait, no it's not. I'm in Italy and still wearing flip-flops. I went to Croatia last weekend and sauntered around in a bikini while gazing at aquamarine water. Unlike America, which breaks out the orange and black in August, Italy does not seem to carry the same seasonal obsessions. In fact, they seem pretty season neutral. No one is dying their hair auburn for fall, or switching out their pastel wardrobes for warmer burgundies and forest greens. Black attire in the summer - black attire in the winter. Va bene. My friends are posting about their pumpkin spice lattes and pumpkin bread and pumpkin, pumpkin, pumpkin. It's like they're rubbing Starbucks in my face, while I order my ho-hum espresso at my lackluster Italian caffe. Well, I had had enough. This bionda was about to find some "zucca"-flavoured things in Florence.

I went to the nearest CONAD, hoping to see my familiar orange squash on display. Alas, there were only bananas. We were off to a bad start.

"Scusa"-ing my way to the tea section, I fervently searched for something that reminded me of fall. Apple, chai, anything! Scanning boxes of chamomile, green, black, and something called "Prince of Wales" tea, I realized that my quest was in vain. I perused the coffee shelves for a pumpkin-flavoured creamer or something similar. No. There is clearly a reason why America takes the gold for obesity.

Accepting my loss, I settled on a soup mug (because they do not seem to believe in over-sized coffee mugs. Nothing is over-sized here except for the nutella.) and a box of blueberry green decaf.

This chica is satisfied with my fruity, warm drink. It's not pumpkin, but it's comforting. As all of you live vicariously through my travels, I will be living vicariously through your Instagram pictures of cardboard coffee cups overflowing with whipped cream and liquid caramel. You win, Starbucks.


Ciao for now xoxo, and happy fall!

Side note: Italy might be lacking in the zucca department, but they do have Mcdonald's mayonnaise! I know, you never thought that two things so perfect could be fused into one.

Wednesday, October 3, 2012

Today, I learned that in Italia they watch the Smurfs! BUT - they call it "I Puffi." At first, we had no idea what they were talking about. Our host mom's daughter kept describing it as "blue cartoons." There's even a gelato flavor named after I Puffi! We finally understood when the grand daughter showed us clips on Youtube. So funny, because it's popular here but SO outdated in the United States! Povera Puffi.



Also, Lady Gaga came to Milan this weekend. We found out... today. Meow.

Tuesday, October 2, 2012

Also, three of my pants have ripped since I've been here. I feel like Julia Roberts in Eat, Pray, Love. Damn you, gelato! Just kidding gelato, I love you so much.


Also, I found Voldemort in Florence. Don't worry, I expecto patronum-ed like a boss. My blog posts are so profound.

xoxo


Today, I went to a super cute tea/wifi place! It was a little hole in the wall with couch/benches, where you could sit and do homework with their free wi-fi for the price of a tea. It's called Meykadeh. The guy who works there is from Kansas, but grew up in England, and moved to Italy as a food writer. They play really soothing music and also sell used books! I'm obsessed. It's hard to find a nice place to study here. The library at school closes at 5, so I have to go home and work. Being home is equivalent to being on facebook! Hence, mi piace questo luogo :) I got decaf green tea and it was served in this adorable tea pot with a cookie on the side. 


Love it! Sorry my hair blends into the wall... platinum problems. Ciao for now!


Wednesday, September 26, 2012

On Gelato

Let's display my fine collection of gelato flavours - shall we?


Blackberry and lemon


Blueberry and cream with a waffle cookie


Fig and mascarpone


Banana, Fig & Ricotta

I know, I know. I'm turning into a big girl in Italia. It's bene, really! Tonight, my host mom served us "nocciola" flavoured gelato. Oh, my freaking goodness. It is hazelnut with pieces of nuts scattered throughout. My housemate and I must have had 3 servings. Va bene. I have found my favorite flavour! Though fig is really great too ;)

Ciao for now!





Friday, September 14, 2012

Have you ever been somewhere that you've never been before, but it feels like you were always meant to be there? Italy feels so right.

Cheers to that.


Fun facts:

The dogs are ridiculously well-trained. There are no leash laws, but it's rare to even see one bark, let alone run up to you.

You don't really pet dogs like you do in America. People look at you strangely.

People look at you strangely when you go for a run. I've had it happen three times that someone has laughed and imitated running. Europeans are jelly of my endorphins.

The grapes are not seedless. You have to spit them out.

You have to weigh your fruit and label it before you get to the cash register.

You can't smile at people on the streets like you do in America. Everyone wears their "bitch-face."

Pedestrians unofficially do not have the right of way. Aka cars/vespas do not stop for you when you cross. So many American city-slickers would be pissed/injured!


Truth: I am obsessed with this country.

Tuesday, September 11, 2012


This bionda bought a hair straightener today! Italiano hair straightener for 43 euros! Bella! Actually it's the equivalency of a Conair (bleh, Ulta snob), but it will do! I got it at a little barber shop on our street. And I bought the whole thing while speaking Italian to the employee! *proud moment*

Ciao ciao!

Monday, September 10, 2012

Cinque Terre

Ciao bella! I am seriously still so jet lagged, but I need to not nap and push through it! I'm trying to get on some sort of normal sleep schedule before this trip is over :) So far, due espressi e uno caffe americano today. And I'm still struggling! On Sunday, we went to Cinque Terre with a tour group. Oh my gosh. I already want to go back. Actually, I want to go every weekend for the rest of my life. Or every day. Um, yea. It was gorgeous! The weather was perfect, first of all. We hiked up 382 stairs to the top of a mountain, where we ate lunch. I had fried vegetables that were amazing and reminded me of french fries - yum! Cinque Terre is apparently known for their pesto, fish and white wine. I tried some of the other girls' pesto dishes and it was indeed delicious! I am going to exclamation the hell out of this post because I am that enthusiastic about this place haha. After lunch and getting somewhat lost, we took the train to la spiaggia (the beach!). It was so beautiful! There wasn't sand, but instead small pebbles. The water was this perfect turquoise color, and crystal clear. Also, I had the best daiquiri of my life. They made it with fresh strawberries rather than sugary syrup! It was delicious and I'm going to try to replicate it back in the states.




Ciao for now! Mwah!



Saturday, September 8, 2012

So, last night we went out for my sorority sister's birthday! Imagine that, having your birthday in Italy! We went to Moyo for aperitivo. Aperitivo is sort of like happy hour. You buy one drink and then have access to a free buffet of food. Like, are you kidding me? They could never do that in America because our culture is so accustomed to overeating! This is our new go-to spot because you get free dinner! The buffet isn't basic food either. I had this great sausage and mushroom dish, cooked veggies and of course bread! The girls got Emily a pastry and candles to celebrate like a birthday cake - it was so cute!



After that, we went to Lion's Fountain (the American-esque bar). We stayed for a little there and then went to the club called Twice. It was so much fun. We got to go in the VIP section and danced to "Call me maybe," obviously.



This morning I had a fantastic caprese salad from this restaurant down the street. I also have like, six chapters of political science reading to do!

Ciao XO
Fun fact: Since I've been in Italy, I've heard "Call me maybe" played at least 5 times in restaurants/bars, seen the music video on two TV's, and one chalkboard had the lyrics written.


Friday, September 7, 2012


I’m in Firenze! I apologize for the lack of postings, but my wifi was on the fritz and adapter was nowhere to be found. If I’m slow to respond to a Facebook message or email, it’s because wifi is precious gold here! Firenze is beautiful. That’s all there is to it. There are about fifty gorgeous churches in walking distance of our homestay, which also makes for great landmarks when trying to navigate.


On the flight from Dulles to Frankfurt I sat next to an elderly lady who was on vacation. She was actually an alumni from Sweet Briar, and the school does alumni trips every year to cool places in Europe. She was telling me all about her life, and her cat, Maggie. What a sweetheart! I honestly did not sleep a wink on the plane because I was chatting with this lady. The flight time flew by and all of a sudden we were in Frankfurt.

In Frankfurt airport, we had to go through security again before getting on the plane to Florence. The candle that I got my host mom apparently set off the scanner, so they had to search my bag. Well, wouldn’t you know, they pull out my teddy bear! The German TSA guy – “Is this your best friend?” Me – “Yes.” No shame. Oh, and I also got frisked. Blondes can be dangerous, ya know!

We went out for the first time in Firenze! We went to this bar called Old Stove, where we met these students from Denmark. They were so nice – and basically my twins with the platinum hair! They were seniors in high school and just visiting for the week, so unfortunately we won’t be able to hang out again. After that, we went to this bar called Lion Fountain. It was like being in an American bar. We walked in and they were playing Katy Perry while U.S. college tee’s lined the walls. There’s a JMU one with summer student’s signatures – definitely got a picture! I might recognize a few names ;) They even had a special JMU shot – strawberry vodka and lime. It was delicious and tasted like Jello. After THAT, it was pretty late but we tried to find the last club that we had wanted to check out called Club 21. That place basically looked like something out of a movie. It was so gorgeous, but so hot! Literally, the walls were sweating. I think we stayed for twenty minutes and left! Pizzerias are open very late here, thank goodness! We went to a shop and got margherita pizza, which was super cheap. Five euros for a pie? Okay!





I also just booked a trip to Cinque Terra (?) this Sunday! So excited.

Ciao for now! XO

Sunday, September 2, 2012

Packing is going wonderfully!

But really. I have to dye my roots, finish packing, umm.. that might be all. I feel like this could be an all day affair! Also, apparently the flight attendants of my airline are going on strike? Hence, there may be delays or cancellations when we get to Frankfurt. I'm really not too concerned. Extra time in Germany? Heck yes!

Friday, August 31, 2012

Pre-Pre Departure

It's one of those days where I have so much to do that I've decided on doing absolutely nothing. Well, I created this blog - that's something! In three days, I'll be on my way to Florence, where I will live for the next three months. Am I excited? It really hasn't sunk in. I feel like I won't know what's hit me until my feet are touching the ground in Italy. This is quite possibly the most daring adventure I have embarked on in my lifetime. The farthest I've been abroad was to St. Thomas, and that's a U.S. territory, so does it even count? Oh, I also went to Tiajuana when I was about ten. My family was visiting a relative in San Diego, and it was so close to the Mexican border that we hopped right over for a day trip! I definitely would never go back - lots of zebra-painted horses and children selling gum on the streets. Anyways, back to Italia. I don't even have my suitcase yet. My old one is a goner, the handle broke while I was travelling to the Redwoods this spring. However, I do have luggage tags! My mom bought them for me. They're the newest Lilly pattern.



On to packing! Or more procrastinating.